Our Island

On a recent return flight to Penang, I was able to get this picture of Penang island on our final approach to the airport. Since I was trying to hide the fact that I had my phone out after all electronics were to be turned off, I didn’t do the best job of framing the shot. But, this can give you some perspective of where we have lived for the past two years.

20130105-130730.jpg

The green patch in the middle of the buildings on the left side of the island is the airport. Our office is next to the airport and is about halfway up the runway and sits between the airport and the coast. The snaking white line in the bottom right-hand corner is the second bridge to the mainland that is soon to be completed. Our condo is way up in the far right-hand portion of the island where the buildings start to disappear behind he hills.

All buildings and no big roads. There are 1.5 million people living on the the island and surrounding area. It takes me about 40 minutes to drive to the office early in the morning. With traffic, it is closer to 1 hour.

